Golf Simulator Budget Builds: Five Builds Priced Part by Part, From $1,600 to $24,000 (2026)
Posted in Room Setup, Your Swing Studio
A working golf simulator is more than a launch monitor. It needs something to hit into, a screen and projector or TV, a computer or tablet, a year of software and a room that fits. Several retailers’ build guides price their own parts. The five builds below price every part from makers’ and retailers’ pages, checked between 2 and 14 October 2026.
In a Nutshell
Priced part by part, a net-and-mat setup runs about $1,600 in its first year, a screen-and-projector Square build about $2,600, an enclosure with a gaming PC and GSPro about $5,600, a 4K camera build about $10,000, and an overhead, professionally set-up build about $24,000. Spend on the hitting mat and launch monitor first, and price the room separately.
👉 Price the computer and the software before you compare: in year one they add about $1,800 to the enclosure build and $2,900 to the 4K build.
Jargon, once:
- Launch monitor — the device that measures each shot.
- Hitting strip vs stance mat — the insert you strike from, and the surface you stand on.
- Impact screen — what the ball hits and the course is projected on.
- Short-throw projector — fills the screen from close range.
- 1080p, 4K — picture sharpness; 4K is sharper.
- GSPro — the $250-a-year Windows golf-course program many owners use.
The Five Builds at a Glance
| Build | Year one | Five years | Room | You give up |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Net, Garmin R10 and a mat | $1,589.97; $1,689.96 with the Garmin Golf course plan | $2,089.92 with Garmin Golf | About 14–16 ft deep | Screen, projector, putting |
| 2. Square bundle, net, screen and projector | $2,568.98 on a tablet you own | Same; courses use credits | Not stated on the page checked; the net is 10 × 8 × 10 ft | GSPro, an enclosure |
| 3. Enclosure, gaming PC and GSPro | $5,616.98 | $6,616.98 | 10 × 16 ft room, 9 ft ceiling | 4K; spin needs a marked ball |
| 4. 4K projector and a camera launch monitor | $10,100.99 | $11,896.99 | 11 × 15 ft footprint, 9–10 ft ceiling | Moving the unit for left- and right-handed golfers |
| 5. Overhead launch monitor and professional setup | $23,655.96 | $25,451.96 | 14 × 20 ft room, 10 ft ceiling (SIG12) | Room work not included |
Prices as read on 2–14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.
Year one = hardware plus a year of software. Tax, shipping and duty are extra (one owner paid a $250 import fee on an $8,400 order). Without the sale prices, Build 4’s parts total $12,222.99.
How this was built: makers’ and retailers’ pages read between 2 and 14 October 2026; owner and reviewer reports from Reddit and YouTube since 2022. Nothing here was tested hands-on.
Golf Simulator Special Offers, Deals and Discounts
UK Golf Simulators – Complete Guide + Tips + Resources
Golf Simulator Cost Calculator – How much do Golf Simulators Cost?
Build 1: About $1,600 — Net, Garmin R10 and a Good Mat
| Part | Pick | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Launch monitor | Garmin Approach R10 | $499.99 |
| Hitting surface | SIGPRO Softy Lite, 4 × 5 ft | $739.99 |
| Net | Spornia SPG-7 | $349.99 |
| Hardware | $1,589.97 | |
| Year one with Garmin Golf ($99.99) | $1,689.96 | |
| Five years with Garmin Golf | $2,089.92 |
Prices as read on 2–14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.
- Room: the R10 sits 6–8 ft behind the ball and the ball at least 8 ft from the net. Plan on about 14–16 ft of depth. Garmin gives no ceiling figure.
- Software: Garmin’s free app on a phone or tablet you own records shots. Courses come through Home Tee Hero, Garmin’s course mode ($99.99 a year), or E6 Connect on an iPad (a separate yearly plan). GSPro needs a Windows PC.
- You give up: a screen and projector, putting (the R10 doesn’t read putts) and a real tee on the Lite mat. Garmin says Titleist RCT (radar-tracking) balls improve its spin reads.
- Package instead: Spornia’s R10 bundle (SPG-7 net, Academy 5 × 5 ft mat, no screen) costs $1,129.99 on sale (was $1,229.99) and was in stock on 14 October 2026.
- Cheaper still: owners have posted working builds from $344 with used parts.

Impact Screen vs Net – Pros & Cons + Buying Guide
Retractable Golf Simulators – Ultimate Guide
Build 2: About $2,600 — Square, Net, Screen and a 1080p Projector
| Part | Pick | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Launch monitor, net and screen | Shop Indoor Golf’s Square Golf launch monitor, net and impact screen bundle (10 × 8 × 10 ft net) | $879.99 sale (was $979.99) |
| Hitting surface | SIGPRO Softy Lite, 4 × 5 ft (from Build 1) | $739.99 |
| Projector | BenQ TH671ST, 1080p short-throw (Shop Indoor Golf, Carl’s Place) | $949 |
| Hardware | $2,568.98 | |
| With an iPad (from $449) | $3,017.98 |
Prices as read on 2–14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.
The listing doesn’t say whether it ships the Home Edition or the Omni (two Square models); check the model before ordering.
- Software: Square sells no subscription for its own app, per retailer listings (Square’s site doesn’t say). Its courses run on credits, with a starter pack included.
- Room: the net is 10 × 8 × 10 ft; the page gives no room or ceiling figure.
- You give up: GSPro (no PC), an enclosure and 1080p only.
- Carries over: the projector and mat move to Build 3, and so does the launch monitor if it is the Home Edition.
- Package instead: PlayBetter’s Square SimStudio COMPLETE costs $3,894.99 on sale (was $4,694.99). It adds an enclosure, a 5 × 5 ft mat, putting and landing turf, side barriers and an Optoma ZW350ST projector, but no computer. Its listing doesn’t name the Square model either.

Golf Simulator Without Projector – Setup Options & Tips
Launch Monitor Subscriptions Compared (2026): True Cost and No-Subscription Options
Build 3: About $5,600 — Enclosure, Gaming PC and GSPro
| Part | Pick | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Launch monitor | Square Golf Home Edition | $699 |
| Hitting surface | SIGPRO Softy Lite, 4 × 5 ft | $739.99 |
| Enclosure and screen | Shop Indoor Golf SIG8: poles, SIGPRO Premium screen, padding, surround | $1,439.99 sale (was $1,799.99; 11 October 2026) |
| Projector | BenQ TH671ST, 1080p | $949 |
| Computer | CyberPowerPC desktop, RTX 5060, 16GB | $1,539 sale (was $1,776; 14 October 2026) |
| Hardware | $5,366.98 | |
| GSPro, first year | $250 | |
| Year one | $5,616.98 | |
| Five years | $6,616.98 |
Prices as read on 2–14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.
- Why the SIG8: it comes complete for $1,439.99 on sale (was $1,799.99). Carl’s DIY kit is $999.95 (8 × 8 ft, Standard screen) or $1,479.95 with a Premium screen, plus pipe you buy. Owners and reviewers like Carl’s size options (6 reports from 6 owners and reviewers).
- Room: Shop Indoor Golf lists a 10 × 16 ft room and a 9 ft ceiling for the SIG8, whose frame is 8 ft 4 in tall.
- Fit: the SIG8’s viewable screen area is square (7 ft 7 in each way), so a widescreen projector like this build’s shows bars or spills over the edge.
- Software: Square’s GSPro connector is still a beta, per its support page.
- You give up: 4K, and spin data unless you hit the Home Edition’s marked ball.
- Own a PC that runs GSPro? Year one: $4,077.98.
- Carries over: if Build 2’s unit is the Home Edition, the new money is $3,228.99 (SIG8, PC, GSPro); if not, $3,927.99.
- Package instead: Foresight’s Sim in a Box Play 10 ft kit, $4,999, “includes a simulator frame, hitting screen, hitting mat, computer cart, and projector”: no launch monitor or PC.

Golf Simulator System Requirements in 2025 – Updated Reference Guide
Best Golf Simulator Projector 2025 – 8 Step Buying Guide + Setup Examples
How to Build a DIY Golf Simulator Enclosure – Steps, Tools, Costs + Materials
Build 4: About $10,000 — 4K Projector and a Camera Launch Monitor
| Part | Pick | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Launch monitor | Uneekor EYE MINI LITE | $1,999 sale (list $2,750) |
| Hitting surface | SIGPRO Softy, 4 × 7 ft | $999.99 |
| Enclosure and screen | Rain or Shine SwingBay, 8 × 10.5 ft, single layer | $1,999 sale (was $3,499) |
| Projector | BenQ TK710STi, 4K (Carl’s Place, PlayBetter) | $2,199 |
| Computer | CyberPowerPC desktop, RTX 5070, 32GB | $2,455 sale (was $2,775; 14 October 2026) |
| Hardware | $9,651.99 | |
| Uneekor Pro + GSPro, first year | $449 | |
| Year one | $10,100.99 | |
| Five years | $11,896.99 |
Prices as read on 2–14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.
- SwingBay: frame, impact screen, blackout curtains, side netting and padding; a triple-layer screen adds $500.
- Software: GSPro needs Uneekor’s Pro plan ($199 a year) on top of GSPro ($250). Three months of Uneekor’s Ultimate plan come with the unit.
- Room: the SwingBay’s footprint is 11 × 15 ft and it stands 8.1 ft tall. Rain or Shine says a 9 ft ceiling suits most players, with 10 ft or more for full clearance.
- You give up: the LITE sits beside the ball, so left- and right-handed golfers move it.
- Graphics: the system-requirements guide puts GSPro at 4K Ultra on an RTX 4070 Super or better, with the 5070 Ti among its reference cards. Expect to lower settings on the heaviest courses. The 5070 Ti desktop ($3,009 sale) raises year one to $10,654.99.
- Own a PC? Year one without it: $7,645.99.
- Package instead: Carl’s EYE MINI CORE package, $4,499.95 (was $5,516.73), bundles a C-Series enclosure, frame pipes and screen with the CORE, View software, a BenQ AH30ST projector and a HotShot 4 × 9 mat. With the $1,500 club-data unlock it is $5,999.95 before a computer.

Uneekor Software Options – Comparison and Best Value Tips
4K Golf Simulator Projectors – Complete 2025 Guide
What are the Best Golf Simulator Mats for Left-Handers and Why?
Build 5: About $24,000 — Overhead Launch Monitor and Professional Setup
| Part | Pick | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Launch monitor | Uneekor EYE XR, overhead, behind the ball | $5,999 sale (list $6,999) |
| Hitting surface | SIGPRO Softy, 4 × 10 ft | $1,199.99 |
| Enclosure and screen | SIG12 | $1,999.99 sale (was $2,499.99; 11 October 2026) |
| Landing pad | SIG12 landing pad, 12 × 9 ft putting turf | $1,099.99 sale (was $1,199.99) |
| Projector | BenQ LK936ST, 4K (Shop Indoor Golf, Carl’s Place) | $4,899 |
| Computer | CyberPowerPC desktop, RTX 5070 Ti, 32GB | $3,009 sale (was $3,379; 14 October 2026) |
| Setup | Shop Indoor Golf Professional Golf Simulator Assembly & Setup | $4,999.99 |
| Hardware and setup | $23,206.96 | |
| Uneekor Pro + GSPro, first year | $449 | |
| Year one | $23,655.96 | |
| Five years | $25,451.96 |
Prices as read on 2–14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.
- Why one retailer: Shop Indoor Golf’s setup service is sold only with its own package or enclosure. It covers assembly, calibration and a walkthrough; travel, electrical work and projector mounting are not stated on the page, so ask.
- Room: Uneekor’s minimum room for the EYE XR is 13 ft wide, 16 ft deep and 10 ft high. Shop Indoor Golf lists a 14 × 20 ft room with a 10 ft ceiling for the SIG12.
- Why spend here: the overhead unit serves left- and right-handed golfers without moving, and someone else assembles it.
- Not in this price: room finish, climate control and electrical work. One owner’s “around $25k” build listed no parts; this one is priced from retailers.
- Package instead: Carl’s EYE XO2 Curved package, from $24,325.44 (regular $25,702.75), lists the EYE XO2, two Swing Optix cameras, a one-year GSPro license, an Epson L695SE projector and a three-month Champion trial. The package uses a different, pricier launch monitor.

Best Launch Monitors for a Home Golf Simulator (2026), by Budget
Golf Simulator for a Low Ceiling: What Actually Works (2026)
Where to Spend First, and Where to Save
- Launch monitor or mat? Owners split. One commenter puts the launch monitor first:
“Spend most of your money on the LM. Everything else is much easier to upgrade.” (u/UniverseChamp, 2026-07-08)
- The mat carries the injury reports (7 reports from 7 owners). One owner wrote:
“Currently recovering after hitting off cheaper/worn mats for about 150 hours this past winter.” (u/CAPHILL, 2026-03-25)
- About the mats here: the SIGPRO Softy is a common owner pick, though nine owners in one August 2026 thread reported its hitting strip tearing at the seam. The Lite takes no real tee. Carl’s HotShot mat system, from $499.95, is one non-SIG option.
- Save on the screen at first: owners suggest a TV, a tablet or a laptop you already own:
“I use a tv over a projector maybe try it for a year before dropping 2k on a projector.” (u/MechanicDependent842, 2026-05-25)
- Do the install yourself to save (9 reports from 8 owners), if you have the time.
- Pads: one owner says making your own saves about $2,000; another warns against it:
“Don’t make your own wall/ceiling pads.” (u/GolfingGator, July 2026)
Best Golf Mat for a Golf Simulator – 10 Step Buying Guide
Why are Golf Simulators Expensive? (+ cost breakdown)
Costs No Parts List Includes
- Climate control: one owner priced a mini-split at $1,500 for the unit and estimated about $5,000 installed. A YouTube builder’s heater came to about $3,000 with installation. Mini-splits and hard-wired or gas heaters are jobs for a licensed installer or electrician; check local code.
- Garage doors: tracks and openers often sit in the swing path (4 reports from 4 owners). Spring and track work is a job for a garage-door technician.
- Floor: one owner advises “a good inch of foam” between the mat and concrete.
- Padding: one owner’s only regret:
“Only regret is not putting enough foam padding around the corners/edges.” (u/Nathmerd, 2026-07-08)
- Ricochets: another owner’s ball bounced off a stud and came back within a couple of inches of their face.
- Ceiling: one owner broke a driver on a 9 ft basement ceiling.
- The room itself: construction can cost more than the equipment (5 reports from 5 owners).
Garage Golf Simulator – 13 Key Challenges + Tips & Tricks
Making a Basement Golf Simulator – Pros and Cons
Package, DIY or Professional Install?
| Route | What it costs | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Package: Sim in a Box | Play 10 ft kit, $4,999 (no launch monitor) | Owners in 2023–25 called earlier kits overpriced against parts (6 reports from 6 owners) |
| Package: Square SimStudio | COMPLETE, $3,894.99 sale | Four owners in 2024–25 mostly judged the then roughly $4,000 bundle fair value |
| DIY | The parts above | One owner did a whole-garage renovation and sim for about $10,000 against a general contractor’s $30,000 |
| Professional install | Rain or Shine lists $500 to $4,999 by tier; Shop Indoor Golf $4,999.99 with its enclosure | One owner’s planned, professionally installed room budgeted $5,000 of its $17,500 for labor (October 2025); the cost calculator lists the tiers |
Prices as read on 2–14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.
Carl’s Place (Bread Pay), PlayBetter (Affirm), Shop Indoor Golf and Rain or Shine offer financing. Shop Indoor Golf lists 0% to 29.99% APR, with 0% on 12-month loans; PlayBetter shows 0% APR on one package; both need approval. Read the APR and term before you sign.
Golf Simulator Budget Build FAQ
Is $5,000 enough for a golf simulator with GSPro?
In Build 3, only with a PC you own that runs GSPro: $4,077.98 in year one without the computer, $5,616.98 with a new gaming desktop.
What does a $3,000 golf simulator include?
Build 2’s Square bundle, Softy Lite mat and 1080p projector: $2,568.98, or $3,017.98 with an iPad. No GSPro.
Should you buy the launch monitor or the hitting mat first?
Owners split. One commenter says the rest is easier to upgrade; the injury reports point to the mat.
How much room does each build need?
From about 14–16 ft of depth (Build 1) to a 14 × 20 ft room and a 10 ft ceiling (Build 5). The Room column in the first table lists all five.
Do you need a gaming PC?
Not for Builds 1 and 2: a phone or tablet runs Garmin’s and Square’s apps. GSPro needs a Windows PC.
How much does a simulator cost each year after you buy it?
$0 or $99.99 for Build 1, nothing for Build 2 beyond course credits, $250 for Build 3, $449 for Builds 4 and 5.
Is a package cheaper than these builds?
Sometimes. Spornia’s R10 package costs $459.98 less than Build 1 but swaps the mat; PlayBetter’s Square package costs $1,326.01 more than Build 2 but adds an enclosure and turf.
Final Thoughts
Measure the room, then buy the mat and launch monitor; one owner says a TV can stand in for a projector for a year. Count software in year one.
Launch Monitor Subscriptions Compared (2026): True Cost and No-Subscription Options
Golf Simulator for a Low Ceiling: What Actually Works (2026)
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Hello! My name is Alex and it is my mission to bring you all the information you need to build your own home golf simulator! I hope mygolfsimulator.com helps you on your journey to better golf at home!
LEGAL INFORMATION
On this site, you'll find articles on all aspects of building a golf simulator. I will also link to other sites where you can buy some of the simulator components. Some of these links may be affiliate links, which means if you click them I gain a small commission at no extra cost to you. This really helps out me and my site so thank you in advance! mygolfsimulator.com and all related social media accounts are property of Awonline LTD.