Best Launch Monitor Under $1,000 (2026): Picks by Room and Software Bill

Posted in

Two things decide the buy under $1,000: your room front to back, and the software bill on top of the box. Where makers give both figures, radar units need 14 feet or more from the unit to the net, so a shorter room rules them out. A yearly plan plus GSPro, the PC golf program at $250 a year, can add more to year one than the gap between two models.

In a Nutshell

Under $1,000, the Square Golf Home Edition ($699) suits a short room because it sits beside the ball and its manual lists putting, while the Garmin R10 ($499.99) is the value radar if you have 6 to 8 feet behind the ball and at least 8 feet from the ball to the net. The Rapsodo MLM2PRO ($599.99 on sale) needs a $199.99-a-year plan for spin and simulator play.

👉 Measure your room front to back first: under $1,000, that number decides between radar and camera.

Jargon, once:

  • Radar vs camera — radar sits behind the ball and tracks its flight; cameras read it at impact. The MLM2PRO is a hybrid: two cameras plus radar.
  • Measured vs calculated spin — read from the ball (often with marked RCT or RPT balls), or worked out by software.
  • Ball data vs club data — how the ball flew, or how the club moved through impact.
  • GSPro, E6 Connect — golf-course programs; GSPro needs a PC.

The Shortlist at a Glance

The shortlist: five units under $1,000 that run simulator software.

Unit and price (2–3 Oct 2026)Sits, and room it needsYearly feeGSPro / E6PuttingOwners and reviewers say
Garmin R10, $499.99Radar 6–8 ft (1.8–2.4 m) behind; ball at least 8 ft from the netNone required; Garmin Golf $99.99 only for Home Tee Hero, Garmin’s course modeGSPro; E6 ConnectNoPraised for value; side spin and garage reads draw complaints
Blue Tees Rainmaker, $599.99Radar 5 ft behind the ballNone required; first year of the app package included, renewal price not statedGSPro; E6 on a PC with a separate E6 licenseNot stated on the page checkedCarry far off in June–July 2026 reports
Voice Caddie SC4 Pro, $599.99Radar 5 ft behind; at least 10 ft ball to net, per its manualNone; five E6 Connect courses and a range includedE6 Connect; not on GSPro’s list (August 2026)Not claimedA good range tool; owners split on E6 Connect
Rapsodo MLM2PRO, $599.99 sale (list $699.99)Hybrid 6.5–8.5 ft behind; a little over 14 ft in total, Rapsodo saysPremium plan $199.99 needed for spin and simsGSPro with PremiumNot claimed by RapsodoCredited with practice gains; the plan is the catch
Square Golf Home Edition, $699Camera beside the ball; Square states no depth figureNo Square subscription, per retailer listings; Square’s site does not saySquare names four programs; GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf need their own licenseYes, per its manualOften recommended indoors; slow support drew complaints

Prices as read on 2–3 October 2026 and re-checked on 14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.

US prices from US pages; outside the US, check local pricing.

  • Short room: Square Home Edition.
  • Lowest new price with GSPro support: R10.
  • Courses included, no yearly plan: SC4 Pro.
  • Under $500: the R10, new. A refurbished MLM2PRO ($399.99) or original SkyTrak ($495) costs less but needs a plan for full use, and GSPro doesn’t list the SkyTrak.

How this was built: makers’ and retailers’ pages read on 2 and 3 October 2026, and makers’ manuals read in August 2026; owner and reviewer reports from Reddit, YouTube and Facebook groups since 2020, plus Reddit threads from the past year. Nothing here was tested hands-on.

Year One Costs More Than the Box

Of the five units above, only the MLM2PRO, with both a Premium plan and GSPro, passes $1,000 in year one.

UnitBox price (2–3 Oct 2026)Year one, maker’s own appYear one with GSPro ($250)
Garmin R10$499.99$499.99; Garmin Golf ($99.99) only for Home Tee Hero$749.99
Blue Tees Rainmaker$599.99$599.99; first year of its app package included, renewal price not stated$849.99
Voice Caddie SC4 Pro$599.99$599.99; five E6 Connect courses includedNot on GSPro’s list
Rapsodo MLM2PRO$599.99 sale$799.98 with Premium ($199.99)$1,049.98
Square Golf Home Edition$699$699; 1,000 credits on a welcome card, per the manual$949

Prices as read on 2–3 October 2026 and re-checked on 14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.

GSPro needs a Windows PC, which isn’t in these totals, and E6 for the Rainmaker is PC-only with its own license. Budget for marked balls too: RCT for the R10’s and Rainmaker’s spin reads, RPT for the MLM2PRO, and Square’s marked balls (three in the box).

Launch Monitor Subscriptions Compared (2026): True Cost and No-Subscription Options

Golf Simulator Budget Builds: Five Builds Priced Part by Part, From $1,600 to $24,000 (2026)

Square Golf Home Edition: The Short-Room Pick

  • Room check: Square states no depth figure. Its manual puts the hitting-zone center about 17 in (42 cm) in front of the unit and 9 in (23 cm) to its right, so depth behind the ball isn’t the limit.
  • Putting: the manual lists putts from 1.1 to 17.9 mph; Square’s web pages don’t mention putting.
  • Spin: read from the marked balls; ball speed, launch and direction work with any ball.
  • Club data: path and attack angle need a shaft sticker, club speed and impact point a face sticker too. The manual lists face angle and dynamic loft as estimates.
  • Apps and courses: Android, iOS or Windows. Two owners say holes use credits and $20 buys 1,000 more; the manual’s welcome card shows 1,000. GSPro lists Square, but Square’s support page calls its GSPro connector a beta.
  • Light: the manual wants a room with little sunlight; one owner reported daytime misreads in a garage with windows.
  • Other watch-outs: owners complained about slow support in 2025, and one Square owner recommends a metal shank guard.
  • Value: owners call it strong value for the price (8 reports from 8 owners, 2025).
Square Golf Home Edition launch monitor on turf next to two marked golf balls
Square Golf Home Edition with its marked balls, which its spin reads use. Image: Shop Indoor Golf.

“I started with a garmin r10 and moved to the square after 18 mos. Night and day difference.” (u/DunnTitan, 2026-04-19)

Other camera routes, SkyTrak’s certified pre-owned (refurbished) units and one retailer’s EYE MINI CORE, are in the used section.

Putting in a Golf Simulator: What Actually Works (2026)

Garmin R10: The Value Radar, If the Room Has Depth

Garmin’s two figures add up to at least 14 feet from unit to net (6 + 8), or 16 with the unit at 8 feet.

  • Price: $499.99 at Garmin. Owners reported sale prices of $399 or less from April to September 2026 (one paid $300 on Black Friday 2025) and $330 used on eBay in August. One seller asked $250 in September.
  • Spin: Garmin says the R10 calculates spin axis and measures total spin indoors only with Titleist RCT balls.
  • Putting: none; virtual rounds add 0 to 3 strokes by how close your approach finished.
  • Complaints: side spin draws the most (14 reports from 11 owners and reviewers, 2021–2026).
  • Garage reads: owners report short carries, blamed on heaters, fans, metal doors or bare concrete. Fixes they cite: level the unit, adjust the altitude setting, use RCT balls, add distance to the net.
Garmin Approach R10 on an alignment stand
Garmin Approach R10, the value radar for a room with depth. Image: PlayBetter.

One R10 owner who now recommends the Square:

“The R10 is great if you’re only planning on using it for full shots.” (u/coltsfan1010, 2026-05-01)

Garmin R10 Space Requirements – Length, Width and Height

Garmin R10 Data – What Data does Garmin Approach R10 Measure?

Garmin R10 Accuracy – Data, Error Margins, Setup Pitfalls + Expectations

Rapsodo MLM2PRO: Count the Plan

  • Plan: Premium costs $199.99 a year after a 45-day trial that renews into a paid year. Rapsodo also lists a lifetime plan at $599.99, which it labels a limited-time offer (14 October 2026), so it may change.
  • Without Premium: it shows no spin and won’t connect to GSPro or Rapsodo’s own course play.
  • Spin: needs Rapsodo’s dotted RPT balls; three come in the box.
  • Practice gains: owners and reviewers credit it (12 reports from 9 owners and reviewers, 2025–2026).
Rapsodo MLM2PRO on its tripod beside a sleeve of Titleist RPT balls
Rapsodo MLM2PRO with a sleeve of RPT balls, which its spin reads need. Image: PlayBetter.

Handedness is a profile setting, but moving the unit between left- and right-handed golfers is a hassle, owners say (4 reports from 4 owners, 2026).

One owner with a lifetime plan:

“I’ve had an overall positive experience with the mlm2 software, especially good on phone and tablet” (u/kingofthefalseflat, 2026-04-01)

MLM2XPRO: $899.99, announced 1 October 2026; Rapsodo’s page showed “Notify Me” and no buy button on 2 and 3 October. Core is $199.99 a year after a 21-day trial, Studios $399.99; putting and the 30,000-plus courses need Core. Its pages name no GSPro or E6 support and no release date. Owners relaying Rapsodo’s 1 October email say lifetime plans can move to the new unit within a set window.

Rapsodo MLM2Pro Data – What Data does the MLM2Pro Measure?

Rapsodo MLM2Pro Space Requirements

Two Radars With No Required Plan: Voice Caddie SC4 Pro and Blue Tees Rainmaker

Voice Caddie SC4 Pro ($599.99): a built-in screen shows your numbers.

  • Accuracy: Voice Caddie’s SC4 Pro manual prints a data-accuracy table: ball speed ±1 mph, club speed ±3 mph, launch angle and direction ±1°. That is a maker spec, not a test result.
  • E6 Connect: owners disagree. Some reported a missing launch angle after a firmware update (reports from December 2025 and January 2026); others say the bundled courses work.
  • Switching: owners of the SC4 and SC4 Pro describe switching to other units (10 reports from 6 owners, 2024–2026).
Voice Caddie SC4 Pro showing shot numbers on its own screen, with its remote
Voice Caddie SC4 Pro: the numbers show on the unit’s own screen. Image: PlayBetter.

Blue Tees Rainmaker ($599.99): it runs GSPro and E6 on a PC and reads RCT balls once switched on in its settings, per Blue Tees’ help pages on 3 October 2026. Owners and reviewers reported distance and carry readings far from real flight in June and July 2026 (13 reports from 9 owners and reviewers). One owner preferred it to the LM1 and SC4 Pro after a first range session (June 2026). Blue Tees’ pages don’t say whether updates changed that.

Blue Tees Rainmaker launch monitor showing shot numbers on its screen
Blue Tees Rainmaker. Image: PlayBetter.

Most Accurate Launch Monitor (2026): What the Tests Show, and What “Accurate” Means Indoors

Cheaper Range and Practice Units

These are range and practice tools. Check the simulator column before you buy one for a home sim. Voice Caddie and FlightScope say the SC300i and the original Mevo run no simulator software. Shot Scope’s page names none for the LM1; the MLM1 page checked states none.

UnitPrice (2–3 Oct 2026)What it showsRuns simulator software?Plan
Rapsodo MLM1$199.99 sale (list $249.99)Uses an iPhone or iPadNot stated on the page checkedPremium $99.99 a year
Shot Scope LM1, sits about 5 ft (1.4 m) behind the ball$199.99Club and ball speed, smash factor (ball speed over club speed), carry, total; no spinShot Scope’s page names noneNone
Voice Caddie SC300i$399.99Distances on its own screen; good enough for dialing in distances (15 reports from 14 owners and reviewers, 2020–2026)No, Voice Caddie saysNone
FlightScope Mevo (original)FlightScope sells none new; $499 at one retailer (2 Oct); certified pre-owned $299, sold out on 3 OctClub and ball speed, carryNo, per FlightScope’s FAQNot stated on the page checked

Prices as read on 2–3 October 2026 and re-checked on 14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.

Used, Refurbished and On Sale

RouteUnitPrice (3 Oct 2026)Catch
Maker certified pre-ownedSkyTrak (original)$495, 90-day warranty$794.99 in year one if Core ($299.99) covers it; SkyTrak’s Core page doesn’t name the original
Maker certified pre-ownedSkyTrak+$895, 90-day warranty$1,194.99 in year one with Core
Maker refurbishedRapsodo MLM2PRO$399.99 (new: $599.99 sale); 45-day Premium trial$599.98 in year one with Premium; Rapsodo’s certified-refurbished page: a 1-year warranty and a 30-day money-back guarantee (11 Oct 2026)
On sale at one retailerUneekor EYE MINI COREFrom $999 at Carl’s Place (3 October 2026); Uneekor $1,249 sale (list $1,499)Ball data only (club data is a $1,500 one-time unlock); a Windows PC over Ethernet; indoors only; $1,448 in year one with GSPro and Uneekor’s $199 Pro plan

Prices as read on 2–3 October 2026 and re-checked on 14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.

  • Prices owners paid: MLM2PRO $350 used (April 2026) and $450 sealed on eBay (September 2026); SC4 Pro $400 used (February 2026).
  • Used SkyTraks: owners reported scam listings (7 reports from 7 owners, 2022 to 2025). Ask the seller to unlink the account.
  • Plans: Rapsodo’s FAQ says a membership “cannot be transferred to another person” (3 October 2026), so a used unit comes without the seller’s plan.
  • Codes: one owner who bought a used SC4 Pro found its E6 course code already redeemed. Voice Caddie support later issued a new key (October 2025).
  • Safer route: prefer a maker’s certified program (SkyTrak’s carries a 90-day warranty) or a seller offering a demo or return window.

Skytrak vs Garmin R10 – Complete Guide (19 Key Comparisons)

Launch Monitor Subscriptions Compared (2026): True Cost and No-Subscription Options

Worth Stretching To

Above $1,000, three units come up most when owners stretch.

UnitPrice (2 Oct 2026)Why owners stretchCatch
FlightScope Mevo+$1,099 sale (list $2,299)No plan; 12 E6 Connect coursesFlightScope says it is in its final sales phase and will keep supporting it; 13 ft of ball flight recommended indoors
FlightScope Mevo Gen2$1,299No plan; left- and right-handers share it without moving it, owners sayClub path and face angle need the Pro Package ($699 sale, list $1,000)
Square Golf Omni$1,599Reads unmarked balls; accuracy praised (7 reports from 7 owners and reviewers, 2026)Sold out at Square on 2 October

Prices as read on 2–3 October 2026 and re-checked on 14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.

Best Launch Monitors for a Home Golf Simulator (2026), by Budget

Mevo Gen 2 Space Requirements

Mevo Plus vs Garmin R10 – 18 Key Comparison Guide

Best Launch Monitor Under $1,000 FAQ

Which launch monitor under $1,000 works in a small room?

The Square Home Edition, which sits beside the ball. Where makers give both figures, radar units need 14 ft or more from the unit to the net.

Do budget launch monitors need a subscription, and which run GSPro?

Of the five, only the MLM2PRO needs a plan for spin and sims. GSPro ($250 a year, Windows PC) works with the R10, Rainmaker, Square and MLM2PRO (with Premium).

Garmin R10 or Square Golf Home Edition?

Several owners who had used both moved to the Square; one moved back. The R10 suits full shots and range use in a deep room.

Can a launch monitor under $1,000 read putts?

The Square, per its manual. The R10 doesn’t, and Rapsodo and Voice Caddie don’t claim it.

Can left- and right-handed golfers share one?

One R10 owner says it suits both; owners call moving the MLM2PRO a hassle; Square’s pages don’t say. One Mevo Gen2 owner’s rule of thumb:

“if you need lefties/righties, go with a radar unit. If you don’t, go with a camera unit.” (u/Environmental-Gain19, 2026-04-05)

Is a used or refurbished unit worth it?

A maker program with a warranty is safer. Plans don’t transfer with a used Rapsodo.

Should you wait for the MLM2XPRO, the Omni or Black Friday?

Neither Rapsodo nor Square gives a date. Rapsodo’s MLM2XPRO page showed “Notify Me” on 2 and 3 October, and the Omni was sold out at Square on 2 October and costs more than $1,000. Last November one buyer found the R10 at $360.

Can you get club data under $1,000?

The Square’s manual lists measured path and attack angle (shaft sticker) and estimated face angle and dynamic loft. The EYE MINI CORE’s club data is a $1,500 unlock.

Final Thoughts

Pick the Square for a short room, the R10 if you have the depth, and count the plan before the MLM2PRO. Not sure which suits your room? Measure it front to back and compare it with the figures above.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Posted in
Foresight GCQuad launch monitor on turf

Most Accurate Launch Monitor (2026): What the Tests Show, and What “Accurate” Means Indoors

“Accurate” hides two questions: is a launch monitor’s number right on average, and does it repeat from shot to shot? Indoors, every test read here compares one launch monitor with another, not with the ball itself. This page doesn’t rank units, because none was tested for it. It shows what the published tests found and…
Continue Reading →
A golfer putting on an ExPutt mat with its camera on a TV stand

Putting in a Golf Simulator: What Actually Works (2026)

Yes, you can putt in a golf simulator, but how the putt gets scored depends on your setup. Your launch monitor may read the putt. The software can score it for you by distance instead of reading your stroke (auto-putt). Or an add-on camera can read it. Owners split on whether any of it trains…
Continue Reading →

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

alex

Hello! My name is Alex and it is my mission to bring you all the information you need to build your own home golf simulator! I hope mygolfsimulator.com helps you on your journey to better golf at home!

LEGAL INFORMATION

On this site, you'll find articles on all aspects of building a golf simulator. I will also link to other sites where you can buy some of the simulator components. Some of these links may be affiliate links, which means if you click them I gain a small commission at no extra cost to you. This really helps out me and my site so thank you in advance! mygolfsimulator.com and all related social media accounts are property of Awonline LTD.

Pro front tgc19screen labelled