Launch Monitor Subscriptions Compared (2026): True Cost and No-Subscription Options

Most launch monitors cost money every year in one way or another, but makers charge for different things. Some put a plan in front of GSPro, the Windows golf-course program many owners use. Some charge only for their own software, and a few charge nothing. Prices below were checked on makers’ pages, or retailers’ where the maker lists none, on 2 October 2026.

In a Nutshell

Foresight and Bushnell charge $599 a year for the Gold plan GSPro needs, Uneekor $199 and Rapsodo $199.99, while Garmin, FlightScope and ProTee charge nothing to connect. GSPro adds $250 a year, so a no-subscription unit running GSPro still costs $1,250 in software over five years.

👉 Ask what stops working if you stop paying, not just what the plan costs.

Jargon, once:

  • Subscription vs one-time unlock — a yearly plan, or a single payment that unlocks a feature for good.
  • Third-party software — simulator programs such as GSPro or E6 that come from another company.
  • Ball data vs club data — readings about the ball’s flight, or about the club at impact.
  • Course pass — a paid add-on for a maker’s own courses.

Three Kinds of Launch Monitor Subscription

  • A maker plan before GSPro connects: Foresight and Bushnell (Gold), Uneekor (Pro) and Rapsodo (Premium). Some also gate data: Rapsodo’s spin display, the Launch Pro i’s ball and club data, and club data on Uneekor’s EYE MINI CORE.
  • A plan only for the maker’s own software: Garmin (Home Tee Hero, its course app), SkyTrak ST MAX (course play needs Core) and Trackman iO. Owners and reviewers say the iO doesn’t run GSPro.
  • Nothing recurring: FlightScope, ProTee, the Voice Caddie SC4 Pro and Square, which uses credits for its own courses.
Rapsodo MLM2PRO on its tripod with a dotted RPT ball
Rapsodo MLM2PRO: GSPro needs its Premium plan. Image: Shop Indoor Golf.

Every Plan, Side by Side

Sorted by the yearly plan you need before third-party software will connect, free first.

Launch monitorPlan and yearly priceFree trialPlan needed for third-party software?
FlightScope Mevo Gen2 / Mevo+None required; Pro Package for extra club data, $699 once (sale, list $1,000)—No
ProTee VXNone (maker lists no recurring software fees)—No
Square Golf Omni / Home EditionNo Square subscription, per the Omni manual; starter credits in the box—No, per retailer listings
Garmin R10 / R50Garmin Golf, $99.99 a year or $9.99 a month, for Home Tee Hero only30 daysNo
Voice Caddie SC4 ProFree app with E6 starter courses; E6 subscription optional—E6 named; GSPro not named on Voice Caddie’s page
Uneekor EYE MINI LITE, MINI, XR, XO2Player free; Pro $199, Champion $399, Ultimate $599 a year per unit3 months of Ultimate includedPro or above
Rapsodo MLM2PROPremium $199.99 a year, $329.99 for two years, or $599.99 once (lifetime)45 days with a new unitPremium
Rapsodo MLM2XPRO ($899.99; announced 1 Oct 2026, “Notify Me” on 3 Oct)Core $199.99 or Studios $399.99 a year; putting and courses need Core21 days of CoreNot stated on Rapsodo’s pages yet
Foresight units and Bushnell Launch ProForesight+ Free, Silver $199, Gold $599; Course Pass $295, Course Pass Pro $59530 days with new devicesGold
SkyTrak ST MAXEssential $99.99, Core $299.99 (Foresight pack) or $349.99 (Trackman pack), Elite $599.9914-day trial membershipNot named on SkyTrak’s pages; owners use a community connector
Trackman iO$700 a year (Home tier)—Not supported, per owners and reviewers

Prices as read on 2–3 October 2026 and re-checked on 14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.

Prices are US dollars from US pages; owners outside the US report higher local prices and some region locks. GSPro needs a Windows PC; maker apps, E6 and Awesome Golf also run on iPad.

How this was built: makers’ pages (retailers’ where the maker lists none) read on 2 October 2026, and Foresight’s help pages read on 25 August 2026. Owner and reviewer reports come from Reddit and YouTube since 2023, plus Reddit threads read on 2 October. Nothing here was tested hands-on.

Launch Monitor & Golf Simulation Software – Compatibility Guide for 2025

Foresight+ Plans for Foresight and Bushnell Owners (as of 2 October 2026)

Owners began reporting Foresight’s new tiers in mid-September 2026. Foresight’s pages carry no dates, so the table compares two snapshots of them.

Bushnell Launch Pro beside a golf ball as an iron strikes it
Bushnell Launch Pro: GSPro needs Foresight+ Gold. Image: Shop Indoor Golf.
Foresight help pages, read 25 August 2026Foresight+ plan pages, read 2 October 2026
Units coveredLaunch Pro, Launch Pro i and GC3S; other Foresight units were sold with one-time software licensesAll Foresight and Bushnell units sold now
Silver$199 a year (Launch Pro and Launch Pro i only)$199 a year
Gold$499 a year$599 a year
Course Pass / Course Pass ProNot listed$295 / $595 a year, added to Silver
GSProNeeded Gold (Bushnell’s page)Needs Gold

What that means over a year:

  • Foresight’s own courses: Silver $199 + Course Pass $295 = $494.
  • GSPro: Gold $599 + GSPro $250 = $849. Bushnell’s page says GSPro “Requires active Gold Membership”.
  • New units: the GC2 ($1,699 on pre-order, ball data only) and the GC3 ($3,999 on sale, list $6,999) ship with 30 days of Gold with Course Pass Pro.

Foresight says existing licenses for its older FSX software “will keep working”. Its pages give no end date, and one owner quotes Foresight as promising at least 12 months’ notice before FSX Play is retired. Bushnell owners who paid for Silver or Gold were moved onto Foresight+, owners report. One owner who bought a GC3 in 2021 described the new software this way:

“Today, I’m being asked to pay for the same features I recently had.” (u/Full_Device_796, 2026-09-22)

The Gold gate for third-party software drew complaints before the change too (15 reports from 15 owners and reviewers, October 2023 to May 2026). Owners also said price rises eroded trust. Some owners felt misled by the change:

“Classic bait and switch. No other way to describe it.” (u/Crafty-Marsupial2156, 2026-09-21)

Uneekor EYE XO Vs Foresight GC Quad – 18 Key Comparisons

What Stops Working If You Stop Paying

Each maker draws the line in a different place.

Launch monitorWorks with no planNeeds a planOther check
Foresight unitsBall data; club data on units that measure itThird-party software (Gold); Foresight courses (Silver with a course pass)Existing FSX licenses keep working, per Foresight
Foresight GC2Ball data (it measures ball data only)As above—
Bushnell Launch ProBall data; Bushnell’s page is unclear on club dataThird-party software (Gold)Registration renews every 45 days or data connections stop, per the manual
Bushnell Launch Pro iNot statedBall and club data, per BushnellAs above
Rapsodo MLM2PRONot stated beyond the Premium listSpin display, Rapsodo courses and range, third-party software—
SkyTrak ST MAXNot stated by SkyTrakCourse play (Core or Elite); Essential covers the range and practice libraries—
Uneekor (except EYE MINI CORE)Ball and club data, the rangeThird-party software (Pro)EYE MINI CORE: club data is a $1,500 one-time unlock
Garmin R10 / R50Shot recording and range sessionsHome Tee Hero and the weekly tournament—
FlightScope, ProTee, SC4 ProCore data and the maker’s appNothing required; E6 extra courses optional—
Trackman iO, SquareNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker—

Uneekor Software Options – Comparison and Best Value Tips

The Five-Year Cost

Sorted by five-year total, lowest first, on the GSPro route, at today’s prices; tax, shipping, a PC and a screen aren’t included.

Launch monitor (hardware, 2 Oct)Yearly: maker plan + GSProFive-year softwareFive-year total
Garmin R10, $499.99$0 + $250$1,250$1,749.99
Rapsodo MLM2PRO lifetime route, $599.99 sale$599.99 once + $250 a year$1,849.99$2,449.98
FlightScope Mevo Gen2, $1,299$0 + $250$1,250$2,549
Square Golf Omni, $1,599$0 + $250$1,250$2,849
Rapsodo MLM2PRO annual, $599.99 sale$199.99 + $250$2,249.95$2,849.94
Uneekor EYE MINI LITE, $1,999 sale$199 + $250$2,245$4,244
Garmin R50, $4,999.99$0 + $250$1,250$6,249.99
Bushnell Launch Pro, $2,999.99$599 + $250$4,245$7,244.99
ProTee VX, $6,500 (retailer)$0 + $250$1,250$7,750

Prices as read on 2–3 October 2026 and re-checked on 14 October 2026. They change often, so check before you buy.

  • List prices: the MLM2PRO ($699.99) totals $2,549.98 (lifetime) or $2,949.94 (annual); the EYE MINI LITE ($2,750), $4,995.
  • Lifetime price: Rapsodo calls it a limited-time offer, so it may change.
  • Mevo Gen2: club path and face angle need the $699 Pro Package.

Different routes, not on GSPro:

  • Voice Caddie SC4 Pro, $599.99: no maker plan; E6 starter courses included.
  • SkyTrak ST MAX, $1,695 sale (list $2,995): Core $299.99 for four paid years (the sale includes a year) totals $2,894.96 with the unit; at list prices, $4,494.95.
  • Trackman iO, $13,995: the Home tier gives club speed only. When read in August 2026, Trackman’s page said the first year of software came with the unit. On 2 October it listed $700 a year, so $16,795 to $17,495 over five years. Trackman’s license site also listed a $1,000-a-year hardware plan in August; trackman.com didn’t show it on 2 October, and it isn’t in these totals.

At today’s prices, five-year software costs more than the unit for the Launch Pro, EYE MINI LITE, MLM2PRO and R10.

Golf Simulator Cost Calculator – How much do Golf Simulators Cost?

Best Launch Monitors for a Home Golf Simulator (2026), by Budget

Launch Monitors With No Subscription

  • Square Golf Omni: its manual lists no subscription fee, and starter credits come in the box. Two owners say more cost $20 per 1,000, about 55 rounds. It showed sold out on Square’s site on 2 October. Owners report back-orders and slow support from Square direct, and one advises buying through a US retailer.

“Square OMNI. Get one. Avoid the subscriptions” (u/Slow_End3078, 2026-09-29)

  • ProTee VX: the maker lists no recurring software fees, which owners and reviewers praise.
  • FlightScope Mevo Gen2: FlightScope says core data and updates are “completely free with no subscription required”; extra club data needs the one-time Pro Package.
  • Garmin R10 and R50: no maker plan for GSPro; Garmin Golf only for Home Tee Hero.
  • Voice Caddie SC4 Pro: free app and E6 starter courses.
  • Also mentioned on Reddit: VTrack (one owner says there are no fees), open-source PiTrac (you buy the parts) and OpenGolfSim (its developer says free to start, with paid courses).
FlightScope Mevo Gen2 launch monitor on grass
FlightScope Mevo Gen2: core data with no subscription, FlightScope says. Image: Carl’s Place.

Lifetime Plans, Trials and Transfers

  • Lifetime: Two owners said in April 2026 that Rapsodo’s $599.99 lifetime Premium is tied to one account and can’t move. Owners quoting Rapsodo’s 1 October announcement of the MLM2XPRO say lifetime plans can move to the new unit within a set window. GSPro’s lifetime add-on is no longer sold; existing ones keep working.

“Rapsodo does not allow you to change the email address tied to the subscription.” (u/flyin-lowe, 2026-04-01)

  • Trials: Rapsodo’s 45-day trial renews into a paid year unless you cancel it.
  • Transfers: Foresight’s support pages describe a device-transfer fee that used buyers note (4 reports from 3 owners). FlightScope’s 2023 Mevo+ manual says a bundled E6 license doesn’t transfer, while E6’s manual lets the original owner unbind one before a sale. Check before buying used.

Who Should Pay for a Subscription?

  • Range and practice only: a free tier is often enough (Uneekor’s Player, Foresight’s Free, Garmin’s free features).
  • GSPro on a budget: a unit with no maker plan; the R10 had the lowest five-year total.
  • MLM2PRO owners who want spin: Premium is required.
  • Maker’s own courses: Garmin Golf for Home Tee Hero (owners and reviewers call it fair value), SkyTrak Core, or Foresight Silver with a course pass.
  • Launch Pro owners who stay: some say it’s worth it (8 reports from 7 owners, 2024 to 2026).
  • Uneekor buyers: the yearly Pro plan pushes some owners toward Square.

If you own a Foresight or Bushnell unit:

  • You hold an FSX license: Foresight says it keeps working, with no end date given; one owner quotes a promise of 12 months’ notice before FSX Play is retired.
  • You mainly use the range: Silver may be enough. One owner keeps it for this:

“I just need the silver sub to be able to use their range and drills on an iPad” (u/HamburgerSink, 2026-09-28)

  • You play GSPro: price Gold plus GSPro (see the Foresight section) and compare the five-year rows before selling. Owners say the plan cost pushes some to sell (6 reports from 5 owners) and weighs on resale.

Launch Monitor Subscription FAQ

Which launch monitors don’t need a subscription?

The Mevo Gen2, ProTee VX, SC4 Pro and Square charge no recurring maker fee; Garmin charges only for Home Tee Hero.

How much is Foresight+ Gold, and do you need it for GSPro?

$599 a year on 2 October 2026, and yes, GSPro needs Gold, plus GSPro’s own $250.

Should you keep your Foresight or Bushnell launch monitor?

For range use, Free or Silver may be enough. For GSPro, add $849 a year and compare the five-year table before selling.

Is Rapsodo Premium worth it?

Without it the MLM2PRO shows no spin and can’t connect to GSPro. It costs $199.99 a year, or $599.99 once for lifetime.

Does the Garmin R10 need a subscription?

Not for GSPro. Garmin Golf, $99.99 a year, covers Home Tee Hero and the weekly tournament.

What happens if you stop paying?

Uneekor keeps ball and club data on its free tier, Foresight keeps ball data, and Rapsodo drops spin.

Do subscriptions transfer when you sell?

Rarely by default: owners say Rapsodo ties plans to one account, Foresight lists a transfer fee, and E6 licenses need the original owner to unbind them.

Is Square Golf really subscription-free?

Its Omni manual lists starter credits and no subscription fee; owners say more cost $20 per 1,000.

Final Thoughts

Count the plan and the software, not just the hardware. For GSPro, the R10 had the lowest five-year total; for no recurring maker fee, look at FlightScope, ProTee, Voice Caddie or Square.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Close-up of a SIGPRO Softy Lite mat edge showing its thickness

Golf Simulator for a Low Ceiling: What Actually Works (2026)

A low ceiling can still hold a golf simulator, but it will limit what you hit, and the same ceiling works for one golfer and fails for another. Your height, how upright you swing, the mat under your feet and your tallest guest decide it. The fixes below run from least to most disruptive, so…
Continue Reading →
Garmin Approach R10 launch monitor on its tripod behind a golf ball on turf

Best Launch Monitors for a Home Golf Simulator (2026), by Budget

Launch monitors sit in one of three places: behind the ball, beside it or overhead. Your room usually decides which kind fits before your budget does. In a Nutshell For most home simulators the best launch monitor is a camera unit at about $1,600 to $2,000: the Square Omni if you can get one, the…
Continue Reading →

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

alex

Hello! My name is Alex and it is my mission to bring you all the information you need to build your own home golf simulator! I hope mygolfsimulator.com helps you on your journey to better golf at home!

LEGAL INFORMATION

On this site, you'll find articles on all aspects of building a golf simulator. I will also link to other sites where you can buy some of the simulator components. Some of these links may be affiliate links, which means if you click them I gain a small commission at no extra cost to you. This really helps out me and my site so thank you in advance! mygolfsimulator.com and all related social media accounts are property of Awonline LTD.

Pro front tgc19screen labelled